What is Texas' CLE requirement?
Texas requires attorneys to complete 15 hours of Continuing Legal Education (CLE) each year. The 15 TX CLE hours must include 3 hours of legal ethics and/or professional responsibility.
Attorneys can easily complete all of your Texas CLE online and on-demand with LexVid:
Texas Accredited Provider: #12408
When is my Texas CLE deadline?
Texas attorneys must complete their CLE requirement by the last day of their birth month.
How do I report my Texas CLE compliance?
Upon completion of a CLE course, report your hours online to the Texas State Bar in accordance with the instructions found here: http://www.texasbar.com/AM/Template.cfm?Section=Report_Your_MCLE_Hours. Pursuant to Section 8(A), an MCLE Annual Verification Report will be sent to each attorney two months prior to the end of the MCLE compliance year. This report contains the attorney's compliance record, and the attorney shall review it and correct any inaccuracies.
What if I'm a newly admitted Texas attorney?
New attorneys in Texas have an extended compliance year that begins on the first birth month following the date of admission to the Texas Bar and extends 24 months.
What if I don't comply by my Texas CLE deadline?
Attorneys who don't complete their CLE by the end of their compliance year are subject to fines and/or suspension. If you have not completed your Texas CLE requirement by the last business day of the fourth month following your birth month, you will be automatically suspended from the practice of law in Texas [Section 8(E)].
How are Texas continuing legal education credit hours calculated?
According to the Texas State Bar, Section 7(A), CLE credit is awarded for each fraction of an hour, based on the net instruction time.
Can I carry over extra Texas CLE credit hours?
Yes. According to the Texas State Bar, Section 6(E), excess CLE credit earned will be applied to the following compliance year's requirement. This carryover provision applies to one year only.
Can I earn self-study CLE credits in Texas?
Yes, Texas attorneys can earn up to a maximum 3 self-study CLE hours per year.
How can I contact the Texas CLE board?
The State Bar of Texas Minimum Continuing Legal Education contact information is listed below:
Phone: 800-204-2222 (x2106)