What is New York's CLE requirement?
24 hours every 2 years, including 4 hours of legal ethics and professionalism, and 1 hour of diversity, inclusion & elimination of bias.
When is my deadline?
New York attorneys must complete their CLE requirement within 30 days after their birthday on alternate years.
How do I report my CLE compliance?
An attorney registration form will be mailed to you by your birthday. Complete this form by certifying that you have completed your CLE requirement for that reporting cycle and that you have kept the proper documentation. You do not need to mail in your certificates or report the individual courses you have completed.
What if I'm a newly admitted attorney?
Newly admitted attorneys must complete at least 16 transitional CLE courses in each of the first two admission to the Bar. These include 3 hours of ethics and professionalism, 6 hours of skills, and 7 hours in law practice management and/or areas of professional practice. Effective 2016, newly admitted attorneys can complete all 14 of their law practice management and/or areas of professional practice hours with LexVid.
What if I've been inactive or exempt for part of my CLE cycle?
Attorneys who were not practicing law at the beginning of their reporting cycle or at the end of their reporting cycle are subject to a pro rata CLE requirement equaling 1 hour for each month they were practicing. However, attorneys who take a break from practicing law in the middle of their reporting cycle are subject to the full CLE requirement.
What if I don't comply by my deadline?
The names of attorneys who fail to comply with their CLE requirement may be submitted to the Appellate Division for disciplinary action.
What if I take a CLE course outside of the state?
A New York attorney may earn credit for attendance of an out-of-state course provided that the course is accrdited by a New York Approved Jurisdiction. You can find the list of New York Approved Jurisdictions here: https://www.nycourts.gov/attorneys/cle/approvedjurisdictions.shtml
How are CLE credit hours calculated?
One CLE credit hour is awarded for each full 50 minutes of instruction, and in increments of 25 minutes thereafter.
Can I carry over extra credit hours?
Yes, up to a maximum of 6 hours (including Ethis and Professionalism courses).
How long do I need to keep my MCLE certificates?
Attorneys must maintain their records of CLE program completion for a period of at least four years from the date of the course or program. All of your LexVid certiifcates of completion can be found at www.lexvid.com/account/certificates. To learn more about what to do in case of an MCLE audit, please visit: http://mcle.calbar.ca.gov/MCLE/MCLEAuditFAQ.aspx
How can I contact my state's CLE board?
The New York State CLE Board's email address is email@example.com
What if I have more questions?
Shoot us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org or give us a call at 1-877-327-1226. We look forward to hearing from you!